Weezer Reveals First Track Since 2010 This Week

Weezer has revealed the first single from their forthcoming, highly anticipated ninth album, Everything Will be Alright In The End, this week.  The song, entitled “Back To The Shack,” is an ebullient, slice of alterna-rock awesomeness.

“Back To The Shack” can be heard for the first time worldwide on radio stations throughout the country TODAY at 8 am PDT/11 am EDT, with the song available to hear via Weezer’s YouTube channel at 8:30 am PDT/11:30 am EDT.  Following that, “Back To The Shack” will be available for purchase on iTunes as of 12 am EDT on Tuesday, July 22nd.  The band will then drop by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on July 23rd to play the song for the first time on television.

Since forming in 1992, Weezer has released a myriad of celebrated, chart-topping albums, selling over 13 million records worldwide.  Following an intensely prolific couple years at the end of the aughts, the band chose to deliberately dial down the tempo in 2010, a move singer/guitarist Rivers Cuomo says allowed him to write at a slower pace, giving the songs he wanted to use for an album the time to gradually grow into their final forms.  When it came time to record the material, Weezer reunited with the man who helped them make some of their most iconic album-length work, Cars frontman Ric Ocasek.  The resulting album, Everything Will Be Alright In The End, released September 30th on Republic Records, is a stand-out gem in Weezer’s vast and varied catalogue, a reflection of a much-loved band at their very best.

Share this article:

More From LATF USA