Follow Me on Pinterest LATFUSA on Instagram Subscribe to our RSS Feed

I Read The News Today...

USA Beats Japan In FIFA Women's World Cup 2015

Mon, Jul 6, 2015 | Filed in: Health/Sports Fitness

Women's World Cup


Team USA took the World Cup trophy home for the first time in 16 years. The United States beat Japan in a 5-2 victory on Sunday in Vancouver.

USA's Carli Lloyd was breaking plenty of records throughout the game, gaining her the Golden Ball award, which makes Lloyd the best player at the World Cup this year. Lloyd scored three times, the first hat-trick in a women's final, to lead the United States.

Read More

The 14th Dalai Lama Celebrates 80th Birthday With Compassion Talks In California

Sun, Jul 5, 2015 | Filed in: Have You Heard . . .

Dalai Lama

His Holiness the Dalai Lama with Anaheim Mayor Tom Tait during a breakfast gathering at the Honda Center

on the first day of the Global Compassion Summit in Anaheim, California, USA on July 5, 2015.Photo/Tenzin Choejor/OHHDL

The 14th Dalai Lama kicked off his 80th Birthday celebration with a Global Compassion Summit tour. On Sunday (and continuing through to July 7th), his Holiness participated in various talks, events and panel discussions at the Honda Center in Anaheim, California and the Bren Events Center at the UC Irvine Campus organized by Friends of the Dalai Lama in partnership with the Center for Living Peace and University of California, Irvine. 

Guests included comedian George Lopez, MC Hammer, and Randy Jackson. Journalist Ann Curry served as the main speaker.

If you're in New York, the Dalai Lama will be appearing at the following events:

Read More

Holiday Box Office: "Terminator" & "Magic Mike XXL" Can't Compete With The Dinos

Sun, Jul 5, 2015 | Filed in: Film

Box office - Jurassic World

It's pretty hard to beat out the dinosaurs of "Jurassic World," even several weeks into the box office game. Both "Terminator Genisys" and "Magic MikeXXL" couldn't make the top slot over the 4th of July weekend. However, Disney's animated "Inside Out" came in second, close in numbers to Universal's dino-hit.

1. Jurassic World - Universal - $30,942,360

2. Inside Out - Disney - $30,105,000

Read More

Independence Day 2015: The Best Firework Shows In Los Angeles

Fri, Jul 3, 2015 | Filed in: Lifestyle

4th of July La

USA is turning 239 this year and there is no better way to celebrate than watching a spectacular fireworks show! If you are still wondering where to check out the best firework diplays, look no further! Here is our list of the best Fourth of July celebrations:

The Queen Mary

Spend your 4th of July by the water on The Queen Mary. Tour the boat, dine on board, and dance the day and night away to live music. Fireworks start at 9PM.

Rose Bowl

Americafest 2015 at the Rose Bowl claims to be the biggest and best fireworks show in Southern California! Food and live entertainment is available throughout the day. The fireworks grand finale kicks off at 9pm. Tickets: $13, Children 5 & under FREE.

Read More

Solar-Powered Plane Makes History Around The World

Fri, Jul 3, 2015 | Filed in: Have You Heard . . .

Solar Impulse 2

Cars that drive themselves and watches that talk back, what will we see next? What about a sun-powered plane? On Friday, a record-setting flight took place in Hawaii. The sun-powered Solar Impulse 2 landed in Hawaii after the longest leg of its world-wide journey, according to reports.

Solar Impulse, which live streamed the flight event, said on their website: At the controls of Solar Impulse 2, pilot André Borschberg landed safely in Kalaeloa on July 3rd at 05:55 local time Hawaii, after a perilous nonstop flight for 5 days and night.

Read More


LATF USA® is a registered trademark. All rights are expressly reserved.